Tuesday, May 15, 2012


Arsenal's unbeaten title-winning team of 2003-04 have been votes as the Best Team in the Premier League's 20 Seasons Awards.

Arsene Wenger's team, skippered by Patrick Vieira, became known as the 'Invincibles' after becoming the first team to win the Premier League title having not lost a game.

And their achievement of eight years ago has been recognised by a panel of leading football pundits, journalists and commentators

'I am very proud of this and very happy,' said Wenger as he received the award. 'I told the players at the time that they could achieve something special once we were champions - being invincible.

'And they did it. At the time they didn’t realise how much it would mean in the future, but I’m very proud of the achievement of course.

'My target is to get Arsenal back to that level.

Wenger's side became the first team since Preston North End in 1889 to achieve the feat in the top flight, and they played 16 matches more.

The team were the last Arsenal side to win the Premier League and included the likes of Vieira, Sol Campbell, Ashley Cole, Dennis Bergkamp and Thierry Henry.

They won the title by an 11-point margin from Chelsea after triumphing in 26 of their 38 matches.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...