Saturday, June 17, 2017

What to expect an FIFA Confederatons Cup kicks off in Russia

The FIFA Confederations Cup is a tournament held every four years, since 1992, and it acts as a rehearsal for the FIFA World Cup.

It is contested by the 6 holders of the regional titles as well as the FIFA World Cup Holder and the host nation.

This year's edition is tournament will hold in Russia and the host will play their inaugural match against New Zealand on the 17th of June. (Today)

Group A: Russia (Host of 2018 WC), New Zealand (Oceania Champions), Portugal (European Champ.s) and Mexico (CONCACAF Champs)

Group B is formed by: Cameroon (African Champs), Chile (South American Champs), Australia (Asian Champs) and Germany (World Champs).

Since its creation the following teams have won the title: Brazil (1997, 2005, 2009, 2013), France (2001, 2003), Mexico (1999), Denmark (1995) and Argentina (1992).

Africa Champion, Cameroon are taking part in the competition for the third time in history after they participated in Korea/Japan in 2001 and France in 2003 where they got into the final.

Nigeria had previously participated in the 2013 edition held in Brazil and had also participated in the 1995 edition in Saudi Arabia.

The Golden boot has been won by (in chronological order): Gabriel Batistuta, Argentina (1992), Luis García, Mexico (1995), Romario, Brazil (1997), Ronaldinho, Brazil (1999), Robert Pirés, France (2001), Thierry Henry, France (2003), Adriano, Brazil (2005), Luis Fabiano, Brazil (2009) and F Torres, Spain (2013).

By Emmanuel Ndibe with contribution from Cosmos Chukwuemeka

Edited by Cosmos Chukwuemeka

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...