Thursday, August 10, 2017

Twenty CHAN Eagles players selected to face Benin

Home based Super Eagles coach, Salisu Yusuf has picked FC Ifeanyi Uba goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, defenders Orji Kalu and Osas Okoro, midfielders Alhassan Ibrahim and Ifeanyi Ifeanyi, forwards Stephen Odey and Ifeanyi George with 13 others for Sunday’s 2018 African Nations Championship away qualifying fixture against Benin Republic.

Also included in the list are: Goalkeeper Dele Ajiboye, defender Chima Akas, midfielder Rabiu Ali and forward Thomas Zenke.

Others are goalkeeper Theophilus Afelokhai, defenders Ariwachukwu Emmanuel, Stephen Eze and Nasiru Sani, midfielders Hafiz Aremu, Raphael Ayagwa and Samuel Mathias and forwards Sikiru Olatubosun and Kingsley Eduwo to complete the squad of players that will travel from Kano to Lagos on Friday.

They will then make the short trip to Cotonou by road same day.

In its preparation for the fixture, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) has appointed Algerian referee Mustapha Ghorbal to handle the tie on Sunday, which kicks off at 4pm.

Ghorbal will be assisted by fellow compatriots Mokrane Gourari (Assistant Referee 1), Mohammed Serradj (Assistant Referee 2) and Said Aquina (Reserve Referee).

Nigeria had failed to reach the final of the first two editions of the competition reserved exclusively for footballers solely playing across domestic Leagues in Africa.

The home based Super Eagles won bronze at the third edition held in 2014. Although the super eagles couldn't make the knockout stage at the fourth edition held in Rwanda last year.

The return leg against the Squirrels of Benin will be held at the Sani Abacha Stadium, Kano on Saturday, 19th August, with the winner after the two legged fixture qualifying for the 5th African Nations Championship to be hosted by Kenya next year.


Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC); Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United)

Orji Kalu (Rangers International); Stephen Eze (FC IfeanyiUbah); Ariwachukwu Emmanuel (Akwa United); Chima Akas (Enyimba FC); Nasiru Sani (Katsina United); Osas Okoro (Rangers International)

Midfielders: Hafiz Aremu (Akwa United); Raphael Ayagwa (Lobi Stars); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Samuel Mathias (El-Kanemi Warriors); Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United)

Sikiru Olatubosun (MFM FC); Thomas Zenke (Nasarawa United); Stephen Odey (MFM FC); Kingsley Eduwo (Lobi Stars); Ifeanyi George (Rangers International)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...