Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Renaldo wins FIFA player of the year award

Real Madrid and Portugal star Cristiano Ronaldo has Francis Kone was recognized for his empathetic gesture and awarded with the Fair Play Award.

Ronaldo defeated Barcelona and Argentina forward Lionel Messi as well as Paris St-Germain and Brazil star player Neymar to the honour.

The 32 year old helped Real to a Champions League-La Liga double in 2016-17.

Barcelona player Lieke Martens, who was instrumental to Netherland's triumph in the Uefa Women Championship, winning the player of the tournament accolade, won best female player award.

She saw off competition from 2016 winner from Carli Lloyd of the United States and Deyna Castellanos, the 18-year-old Venezuela forward.

Real Madrid manager and former Fifa player of the year, Zinedine Zidane was named best men's coach.

Zidane won the award ahead of Chelsea manager Antonio Conte, who lifted the Premier League title in his first season, and Juventus' Massimiliano Allegri, who led his team to a league and cup double in Serie A and Coppa Italia.

Sarina Wiegman was named the best female coach.

She led the Netherlands to the Euro 2017 title on home soil, playing excellent attacking football. 

It was their first major women's international tournament title after a thrilling victory over Denmark in the final.

Italy's veteran goapkeeper Gianluigi Buffon is the first winner of the best goalkeeper award.

The world cup winner and ten time Serie A winner, helped Juventus to a sixth consecutive league title and went 600 minutes without conceding in the Champions League.

Buffon won the award ahead of Keylor Navas, part of a RealFrance and Arsenal forward Olivier Giroud received the Puskas award for the best goal of 2017 for his 'scorpion kick' against Crystal Palace in January.

Francis Kone was recognized for his empathetic gesture and awarded with the Fair Play Award.

The Togolese player performed life-saving first aid on Bohemians 1905's goalkeeper Martin Berkovec during a Czech League game in February.

Celtic won the fan award after they honoured the club's 1967 'Lisbon Lions' with a stunning 360-degree card display on the 50th anniversary of their historic European Cup win.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...